Difference between revisions of "Pumas AwesomeVirtualTeams"

From crowdresearch
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 5: Line 5:
 
https://hbr.org/video/2363593491001/how-to-build-trust-on-your-virtual-team
 
https://hbr.org/video/2363593491001/how-to-build-trust-on-your-virtual-team
  
'''Getting Virtual Teams Right(Webinar)''' https://hbr.org/2015/02/getting-virtual-teams-right
+
 
 +
'''Getting Virtual Teams Right(Webinar)'''  
 +
https://hbr.org/2015/02/getting-virtual-teams-right
 +
 
  
 
'''Communication Tips for Global Virtual Teams'''
 
'''Communication Tips for Global Virtual Teams'''
 
https://hbr.org/2014/10/communication-tips-for-global-virtual-teams
 
https://hbr.org/2014/10/communication-tips-for-global-virtual-teams
 
https://www.dropbox.com/s/254jwcfqxjwnuz4/Communication%20Tips%20for%20Global%20Virtual%20Teams.pdf?dl=0
 
https://www.dropbox.com/s/254jwcfqxjwnuz4/Communication%20Tips%20for%20Global%20Virtual%20Teams.pdf?dl=0
 +
 +
1) Live and breathe your email and make sure the team does too.
 +
2) Give the benefit of the doubt.
 +
3) Overcommunicate.
 +
4) Be intentionally positive.
 +
4) Offer suggestions, not critiques.
  
 
'''*How Google Builds Bosses to Order'''
 
'''*How Google Builds Bosses to Order'''

Revision as of 10:26, 13 August 2015

Some relevant research papers on creating Awesome Virtual Teams


How to Build Trust on Your Virtual Team(Video) https://hbr.org/video/2363593491001/how-to-build-trust-on-your-virtual-team


Getting Virtual Teams Right(Webinar) https://hbr.org/2015/02/getting-virtual-teams-right


Communication Tips for Global Virtual Teams https://hbr.org/2014/10/communication-tips-for-global-virtual-teams https://www.dropbox.com/s/254jwcfqxjwnuz4/Communication%20Tips%20for%20Global%20Virtual%20Teams.pdf?dl=0

1) Live and breathe your email and make sure the team does too. 2) Give the benefit of the doubt. 3) Overcommunicate. 4) Be intentionally positive. 4) Offer suggestions, not critiques.

*How Google Builds Bosses to Order https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/how-google-builds-bosses-order-dr-travis-bradberry#ixzz3hrVTlsp8
Takeaways: Google created a program to create great bosses in all of its pipeline. What makes a Boss great? passion, insight, and being TRANSPARENT. "...They are who they are, all the time. They don’t lie to cover up their mistakes, and they don’t make false promises. Their people don’t have to exert energy trying to figure out their motives or predicting what they’re going to do next. Equally as important, they don’t hide things they have the freedom to disclose. Instead of hoarding information and being secretive to boost their own power, they share information and knowledge generously..."

*Cross Cultural Management https://hbr.org/topic/cross-cultural-management

*Collaborating Well in Large Global Teams”. Harvard Business Review 2015 https://hbr.org/2015/07/collaborating-well-in-large-global-teams https://www.dropbox.com/s/2tan1ew5z1fqt6g/Collaborating%20Well%20in%20Large%20Global%20Teams.pdf?dl=0


*Building Better Global Managers,” Harvard Management Update http://www.hbrp.pl/biblioteka/hmm/developing_employees/resources/U0603A.pdf

*How Do You Manage an Off-Site Team?”,Harvard Business Review https://www.dropbox.com/s/shohi37snlumvf1/how%20do%20you%20manage%20an%20offsite%20team.pdf?dl=0

*Trust and The Virtual Organization”,.Harvard Business Review July-August https://hbr.org/1995/05/trust-and-the-virtual-organization
Takeaways: To collaborate in remote teams we need to be able to trust each other, trust their competence to finish an established goal. ``Virtuality requires trust to make it work: Technology on its own is not enough (...) By trust, organizations really mean confidence, a confidence in someone’s competence and in his or her commitment to a goal

*The Art of Managing Virtual Teams:Eight Key Lessons”.Harvard Business Review. November 1998. http://mcionline.com.au/pluginfile.php?file=%2F9807%2Fmod_resource%2Fcontent%2F1%2FHBR%20Virtual%20team%208%20key%20lessons.pdf